Asset managers

M&G: application stages, tests and practice

M&G lists a short online registration and application form (about 10 minutes), an online assessment of motivational questions, behavioural questions and cognitive tasks (five days to complete, about 45 minutes, untimed except video questions), a Job Simulation assessment, and an assessment centre with activities such as presentations, interviews and group exercises. Some roles add a short telephone interview before the assessment centre. M&G names Cappfinity as its video interview provider and says Cappfinity sends the assessment feedback report.

Routes: Graduate schemes and the summer internship (four-step process) and apprenticeships (three-step process), as described in M&G's Early Careers FAQ. The live FAQ address now redirects to a 'page not found' page, so the FAQ text was read from the Internet Archive copy of 18 February 2026 (written for applications opening in late 2025). M&G says it does not offer official short-term work experience. Last verified 2026-10-22.

Stages in order

What do the confidence badges mean?
  • Vendor-published Stated in the test publisher's own document or practice site.
  • Academic From peer-reviewed research.
  • Official employer Stated on the employer's own page.
  • Near-official Near-official: an employer-run practice portal, or a vendor or employer-quoted press release naming the employer.
  • Candidate-reported Reported by candidates. Treat as likely but unconfirmed.
  • Third-party From prep sites, press or forums. Not confirmed by the employer or publisher.
  1. Online registration and application form

    Official employer

    A simple online registration and application form that M&G says takes about 10 minutes. For an internship or graduate scheme you can apply to only one scheme at a time. Applications are assessed from the moment they are submitted, and you are told the outcome shortly after submission.

    Sources: [1]

  2. Online assessment (motivational, behavioural and cognitive)

    Official employer

    Motivational questions on what drives you and how that fits the role, behavioural questions on how you approach and respond to different situations, and cognitive tasks on critical reasoning and problem-solving. You have five days to complete it and do not need to do it in one sitting. M&G suggests allowing about 45 minutes; the assessment is not timed, but questions that need a video response are timed. Have paper, a pen and a calculator ready for the critical reasoning section. You receive a feedback report from Cappfinity on your strengths and areas for development. M&G's practice site, built with Cappfinity, says this Stage One assessment is not timed.

    Publisher: Cappfinity (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)

    Practise: Situational judgement test practice, Critical thinking test practice, Cappfinity-style assessment practice, Video interview practice

    Sources: [1] [3]

  3. Job Simulation assessment (graduate schemes and internship)

    Official employer

    If you pass the online assessment you are invited to the Job Simulation assessment, which M&G says tests real-life scenarios you would face if you joined. The practice site tells candidates who need extra time at the Stage 2 Job Simulation to email M&G's assessment partner at support@cappfinity.com for a new link, and the FAQ sends technical support for all online testing to Cappfinity. Format, length and question types are not published on the pages read.

    Publisher: Cappfinity (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)

    Practise: Situational judgement test practice

    Sources: [1] [3]

  4. Telephone interview (selected roles only)

    Official employer

    For selected roles you may be invited to a short telephone interview to review your fit for the pathway before the assessment centre. Length and questions are not published.

    Practise: Daily interview question

    Sources: [1]

  5. Assessment centre

    Official employer

    Graduate schemes and internship: a range of activities like presentations, interviews and group exercises, and a chance to meet M&G people including current graduates. Apprenticeships: a half-day assessment centre with a competency or strength-based interview with the hiring manager and a group or individual exercise. M&G aims to give two weeks' notice, sometimes one week, and tries to work around exams.

    Practise: Assessment centre practice, Presentation exercise practice, Group exercise practice, Daily interview question

    Sources: [1]

Final stage line-up

Official employer

Graduate schemes and internship: activities like presentations, interviews and group exercises, plus meeting M&G people including current graduates. The number, length and order of exercises are not stated. Apprenticeships: half a day, with a competency or strength-based interview with the hiring manager and a group or individual exercise.

Assessment centre practice

Retakes and validity

M&G says you can re-apply next year if you are unsuccessful this year. No retake rule for the online assessment is stated.

What we could not verify

  • Whether the archived FAQ still describes the process for the current cycle (the live FAQ page no longer exists)
  • Job Simulation format, length and question types
  • Whether the cognitive tasks include numerical or verbal reasoning as well as critical reasoning (the practice site's practice tests cover numerical, verbal and critical reasoning)
  • Whether a separate strength-based one-way video interview is still used (it appears only in older text on the practice site)
  • Number, length and order of graduate assessment centre exercises
  • Whether the Aon assessments named on the experienced-hire page apply to any early-careers route
  • Retake rules for the online assessment

Sources

  1. M&G, Frequently asked questions: graduates, apprentices and interns (Internet Archive copy, 18 February 2026) Checked 2026-10-22
    M&G's own Early Careers FAQ, read from the Internet Archive capture of 18 February 2026 (03:42 UTC, URL above), which is after the 22 October 2025 cut-off, because the live page is gone (see the next source). Supports the four-step graduate and internship process, the three-step apprenticeship process, 10-minute form, five-day window, about 45 minutes and untimed except video questions, Job Simulation, optional telephone interview, assessment centre content, Cappfinity as video interview provider, sender of feedback reports and technical support for all online testing, notice periods, one scheme at a time, and re-applying next year.
  2. M&G, Early Careers FAQs (live address) Checked 2026-10-22. Page could not be read at the time
    Redirects (301) to group.mandg.com/careers/routes-into-mandg/early-careers/faqs, which returns 'page not found'. Not used as evidence; listed so the gap is visible.
  3. M&G Assessment Practice Zone (employer-run practice portal, powered by Cappfinity) Checked 2026-10-22
    Linked from M&G's FAQ. Client-rendered, so the text was read from its published JavaScript. Says it was developed with M&G's talent partner Cappfinity. Supports Stage One being untimed and the extra-time route for the Stage 2 Job Simulation, which goes to 'our assessment partner' at support@cappfinity.com. It also holds older-looking process text (a strength-based one-way video interview with five days to complete, and verbal, numeric, critical reasoning and situational strengths tests) that conflicts with the FAQ, so that text was not used for stages.
  4. M&G, Early careers Checked 2026-10-22
    Says M&G looks for people who show energy and determination. Graduate schemes start each September, 2 to 3 years of rotations; summer internship is eight weeks for penultimate-year students. No selection stages.
  5. M&G, Application process (experienced professionals) Checked 2026-10-22
    Covers experienced hires, not early careers. Says candidates should not use AI tools during live interviews or assessments, and links an Aon preparation page for experienced-hire online assessments. Not used for early-careers stages.
  6. M&G, Our purpose and values Checked 2026-10-22
    Values Care and Integrity, and the behaviours own it now, move it forward together, and tell it like it is. Used for the interview bank.

Common questions about M&G

What are the stages of the M&G application process?

As we could verify, the stages are: Online registration and application form, then Online assessment (motivational, behavioural and cognitive), then Job Simulation assessment (graduate schemes and internship), then Telephone interview (selected roles only), then Assessment centre. The page says which of these are stated by M&G itself and which are only reported by candidates. Check your own invitation, because processes change every cycle.

Which test publisher does M&G use?

Cappfinity (named by M&G or an employer-run portal). Publishers change, so confirm with your invitation.

What is the final stage of the M&G process?

Graduate schemes and internship: activities like presentations, interviews and group exercises, plus meeting M&G people including current graduates. The number, length and order of exercises are not stated. Apprenticeships: half a day, with a competency or strength-based interview with the hiring manager and a group or individual exercise.

Can I practise for M&G here?

Yes. Each stage links to the matching free practice, with real timings, an untimed mode and a learn mode. The practice is independent, uses original questions and is not affiliated with M&G or any test publisher.

Independent practice. Not affiliated with or endorsed by M&G and Cappfinity.

Other firms

All firms