Banks
Lloyds Banking Group: application stages, tests and practice
Lloyds describes an online application, an online assessment of about 60 minutes, a Job Insight Assessment with video, written and preference questions, and an assessment centre with a one-to-one interview and group exercise. It states that recorded video answers are reviewed by a person with no AI scoring, and that online assessments cannot be retaken.
Stages in order
What do the confidence badges mean?
- Vendor-published Stated in the test publisher's own document or practice site.
- Academic From peer-reviewed research.
- Official employer Stated on the employer's own page.
- Near-official Near-official: an employer-run practice portal, or a vendor or employer-quoted press release naming the employer.
- Candidate-reported Reported by candidates. Treat as likely but unconfirmed.
- Third-party From prep sites, press or forums. Not confirmed by the employer or publisher.
Online application
Official employerRegister and complete a short form. A CV or covering letter is not required for these schemes. The undergraduate pages say only one application is accepted per candidate each year.
Online assessment
Official employerDescribed as giving insight into the Group and how it supports customers and communities. Allow about 60 minutes in a quiet place with pen, paper and a calculator. A feedback report arrives within a few days. Lloyds does not list the question types for this specific assessment. Its general assessments page lists possible online assessment elements for some roles: interpreting data with multiple choice answers, choosing what you would be most likely to do in a work scenario, rating statements about your working style, a recorded video response and a role-related challenge. Lloyds links candidates to a Candidate Support Hub (lbg.preparationplus.com) which is a Cappfinity-powered platform with practice assessments. Software Engineer and Cyber Security Engineer applicants instead take a 130 minute coding assessment, and Data Science and AI applicants a 120 minute assessment.
Publisher: Cappfinity (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)
Practise: Cappfinity-style assessment practice, Situational judgement test practice
Job Insight Assessment
Official employerOpen to those who succeed at the online assessment. You are presented with scenarios with several questions each, alongside data to analyse and interpret. Answers include video, written responses and preference indications, and questions are time-limited or time-recorded. Lloyds says it gives insight into the role and a chance to try some of the activities. Lloyds' general assessments page says that where an assessment includes a recorded video answer it is reviewed by a member of the team and there is no Artificial Intelligence scoring of answers. Per-question prep and answer lengths are not given.
Publisher: Cappfinity (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)
Practise: Cappfinity-style assessment practice, Video interview practice, Situational judgement test practice
Assessment centre
Official employerVirtual or in person depending on the programme. Pre-work is required, with details sent well in advance. On the day you are assessed through a series of exercises that include a one-to-one interview, a group exercise and individual assessments relating to the pre-work. You also talk with current graduates. Reasonable travel expenses are covered for in-person events.
Practise: Assessment centre practice, Group exercise practice
Final stage line-up
One-to-one interview, group exercise and individual assessments relating to the pre-work. Technical routes (Software Engineer, Cyber Security Engineer, Data Science and AI) add a technical exercise. Durations and number of interviews are not stated.
Retakes and validity
Lloyds FAQ: online assessments cannot be retaken ("it's not possible to take the tests again"). Individual results are not given, but an Insights report follows each assessment stage. Internship and placement applicants are limited to one application per year.
What we could not verify
- Exact question types, number of items and timings inside the 60 minute online assessment and the Job Insight Assessment.
- Whether any SHL tests are used. One prep site claims SHL, but no employer or portal page says so.
- Video answer length and preparation time.
- A spring or insight route and its process.
- Whether the 'Job Insight Assessment' video is scored by one person or several.
Sources
Common questions about Lloyds Banking Group
What are the stages of the Lloyds Banking Group application process?
As we could verify, the stages are: Online application, then Online assessment, then Job Insight Assessment, then Assessment centre. The page says which of these are stated by Lloyds Banking Group itself and which are only reported by candidates. Check your own invitation, because processes change every cycle.
Which test publisher does Lloyds Banking Group use?
Cappfinity (named by Lloyds Banking Group or an employer-run portal). Publishers change, so confirm with your invitation.
What is the final stage of the Lloyds Banking Group process?
One-to-one interview, group exercise and individual assessments relating to the pre-work. Technical routes (Software Engineer, Cyber Security Engineer, Data Science and AI) add a technical exercise. Durations and number of interviews are not stated.
Can I practise for Lloyds Banking Group here?
Yes. Each stage links to the matching free practice, with real timings, an untimed mode and a learn mode. The practice is independent, uses original questions and is not affiliated with Lloyds Banking Group or any test publisher.
Independent practice. Not affiliated with or endorsed by Lloyds Banking Group and Cappfinity.