Investment banks

UBS: application stages, tests and practice

UBS lists an online application, online assessments (up to four types depending on business area), a possible pre-recorded video interview and final round interviews. It links to Aon for practice assessments, says assessments cannot be retaken and says people, not AI, make decisions on video interviews.

Routes: Tomorrow's Talent (Spring Insight), Summer Internship and Graduate Talent programmes. The same four-step page appears on all three; UBS says stages may differ slightly by programme and region. The pages are global, with a UK and EMEA section for application timing. Last verified 2026-10-09.

Stages in order

What do the confidence badges mean?
  • Vendor-published Stated in the test publisher's own document or practice site.
  • Academic From peer-reviewed research.
  • Official employer Stated on the employer's own page.
  • Near-official Near-official: an employer-run practice portal, or a vendor or employer-quoted press release naming the employer.
  • Candidate-reported Reported by candidates. Treat as likely but unconfirmed.
  • Third-party From prep sites, press or forums. Not confirmed by the employer or publisher.
  1. Submit online application

    Official employer

    Submit an online application and upload a CV. UBS does not ask for cover letters in most regions. In the UK you may apply to one programme in the UK and one in the rest of EMEA (excluding Switzerland) in the same academic year.

    Sources: [1] [3] [4]

  2. Online reasoning assessments

    Official employer

    Which assessments you receive depends on the business area. The reasoning tests are verbal reasoning and numerical reasoning (drawing conclusions from complex verbal information, or from tables and charts) and inductive-logical reasoning (finding logical rules in patterns and applying them to new sets of patterns). They must be completed within seven days (168 hours) of the invitation email and by the applicant alone. UBS links to Aon's practice assessments. Number of items and time limits are not stated.

    Publisher: Aon (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)

    Practise: Verbal reasoning test practice, Numerical reasoning test practice, Logical and inductive reasoning test practice

    Sources: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]

  3. UBS Culture Match

    Official employer

    Realistic, hypothetical work scenarios where you pick the most effective course of action in line with UBS principles and behaviours. It is one of the four online assessment types, assigned according to business area, and shares the seven day window. UBS does not state its length or item count.

    Publisher: Aon (named by the employer or an employer-run portal)

    Practise: Situational judgement test practice

    Sources: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]

  4. Pre-recorded interview

    Official employer

    After passing the online assessments, and if you are a good fit, you may receive a link to record a video interview. UBS says its people are the ones making decisions, not AI. Question numbers, prep time and answer lengths are not stated.

    Practise: Video interview practice

    Sources: [1] [3] [4] [5]

  5. Final round interviews

    Official employer

    The last stage is a final round of virtual or in-person interviews. UBS asks you to research the firm and the business area and to give examples as stories, including outcomes and what you might have done differently.

    Practise: Daily interview question

    Sources: [1] [3] [4] [5]

Final stage line-up

Official employer

UBS describes the last stage only as final round virtual or in-person interviews. A group exercise, case study or presentation is not mentioned on the pages read. Number and length of interviews are not stated.

Assessment centre practice

Retakes and validity

UBS FAQ: online assessments must be completed within seven days (168 hours) of the invitation, retakes are not allowed, and missing the deadline withdraws the application. The links are sent automatically after applying unless you have already taken and passed the online assessments in the last six months.

What we could not verify

  • Number of items and time limits for each UBS online test.
  • Which Aon products are used for the live tests (UBS links to Aon practice assessments but does not name the live test products).
  • Video interview format (number of questions, prep time, answer length) and vendor.
  • Final round line-up, number of interviews and any group or case element in the UK.
  • Any UK-specific variation, as the pages are global.

Sources

  1. UBS early careers Checked 2026-10-09
    Reached with a plain request; a browser-style user agent returned HTTP 403. Contains the four step How to apply section: application, online assessments (verbal, numerical, inductive-logical, Culture Match), pre-recorded interviews, final round interviews, and the line linking to Aon for practice.
  2. UBS early careers FAQ Checked 2026-10-09
    Supports the seven day window, no retakes, and the six month rule for already-passed assessments.
  3. UBS Summer Internship Program Checked 2026-10-09
    Same four step process; UK and EMEA section says to apply to one UK program and one rest-of-EMEA program per academic year.
  4. UBS Graduate Talent Program Checked 2026-10-09
    Same four step process; same UK and EMEA application limit.
  5. UBS Tomorrow's Talent (Spring Insight) Program Checked 2026-10-09
    Same four step process applies to the spring insight program.
  6. Aon: Prepare for your online assessment Checked 2026-10-09
    The page UBS links to for practice. It offers screencast videos and seven sets of practice tasks for different test types. It does not mention UBS, and does not say which of Aon's tests UBS uses.

Common questions about UBS

What are the stages of the UBS application process?

As we could verify, the stages are: Submit online application, then Online reasoning assessments, then UBS Culture Match, then Pre-recorded interview, then Final round interviews. The page says which of these are stated by UBS itself and which are only reported by candidates. Check your own invitation, because processes change every cycle.

Which test publisher does UBS use?

Aon (named by UBS or an employer-run portal). Publishers change, so confirm with your invitation.

What is the final stage of the UBS process?

UBS describes the last stage only as final round virtual or in-person interviews. A group exercise, case study or presentation is not mentioned on the pages read. Number and length of interviews are not stated.

Can I practise for UBS here?

Yes. Each stage links to the matching free practice, with real timings, an untimed mode and a learn mode. The practice is independent, uses original questions and is not affiliated with UBS or any test publisher.

Independent practice. Not affiliated with or endorsed by UBS and Aon.

Other firms

All firms